Home > Artists > Shawn Duncan
Shawn Duncan

Odin/DC4 — Visit Shawn's website


Shawn started playing drums on his mothers Tupperware at the age of 3! “It was obvious Shawn was going to be a drummer very early” Says his father Lanny Duncan, a gold record songwriter in his own right, “We just watched him make drum sets out of anything that made noise! Pots, pans, Tupperware, coffee cans, you name it!”

By the age of 16 Shawn had recorded his first record, “Caution”, with Los Angeles metal legends ODIN. ODIN went on to release “Don’t Take No For An Answer”, “Fight For Your Life” , “The Gods Must Be Crazy” and most recently "Best of Odin" A Perris Records release Summer 2009. ODIN was also a featured artist in Penelope Spherris’ 1988 documentary, “The Decline of Western Civilization Part 2, The Metal Years”.

Currently, Shawn Duncan is behind the kit for the up-and-coming hard rock band, DC4, which includes brothers Matt Duncan and Jeff Duncan (Armored Saint, Odin), Rounding out the line-up is British born guitarist Rowan Robertson (Dio, Vast, AM Radio)

As the drummer of DC4 Shawn is currently in the studio with legendary producer Bill Metoyer (Slayer,WASP, Trouble etc.) working on DC4's new CD due for a spring 2010 release. In 2008 DC4 released their newest disc, "EXPLODE", with producer Joey Vera (Armored Saint, Fates Warning) at the helm. Explode was later picked up by Chavis Records and re-released in Summer 2009. In January 2010 The song "Candy Cain" from the "Explode" CD has been added to the Rockband Game for x-box live.

A tour-de-force live drummer with over 2500 shows to his credit, Shawn Duncan has performed alongside such musical heavyweights as Billy Sheehan, Macy Gray, Lita Ford, Steve Vai, Poison’s CC Deville, Guns ‘N Roses keyboardist Dizzy Reed, and Laurence Tolhurst, formerly of The Cure, among other luminaries both past and present.

Shawn uses Pearl Drums, Aquarian Drum Heads and Soultone Cymbals exclusively.


  • Odin: Caution
  • Odin: Don't Take No For An Answer
  • Odin: Fight For Your Life
  • Odin: The Gods Must Be Crazy
  • Odin: Best Of Odin
  • Odin: Hollywood Rocks Compilation
  • DC4: Mood Swings
  • DC4: Volume One
  • DC4: Explode
  • DC4: Metal Edge Compilation

Drumhead Setup

Snare= Hi-Velocity Texture Coated (black), Hi-Performance Snare Bottom
Toms= Response 2 Texture Coated Black, Classic Clear on the Bottoms
Bass Drum= Super Kick II Batter, Ported Small hole Front (black)

Artist Media

Audio coming soon...
Video coming soon...